Saint Luke Lutheran Church Special Congregation Meeting March 21, 2021

The meeting began at the conclusion of the 9:00 am worship service. Pastor Miller opened the meeting with a prayer of thanksgiving and for guidance.

President David de Groot called the meeting to order at 9:55 am. He noted the challenges of holding a congregation meeting on a remote basis. The one item of business for this meeting was the election of lay voting members of Synod Assembly. President de Groot explained that the recently adopted amendment to the church constitution changed the way that members of Synod Assembly are to be selected. In recent years, they had been elected by Congregation Council but the new wording, adopted from the model constitution for ELCA congregations, requires election by the Congregation.

Saint Luke is allotted nine voting members of the Metro DC Synod Assembly at its session scheduled for June 4-5, 2021. Pastor Miller explained that, in order to take advantage of the early bird registration rate, it was necessary to elect members before the annual meeting of the Congregation. She proposed the following persons for election, noting their participation in various ministries of the church:

Taylor KampiaDavid de GrootRuth ManchesterMatt ShugertReyna LopezGerson VasquezAndrew VigliottaRalph WatkinsEyob Frezgi

David de Groot advised that, if members wished to nominate additional persons, they should add those names at the bottom of the ballot. If additional nominations were received, we would need to prepare a new ballot so that all members would be voting on the same ballot. Deacon Kyle Warfield advised that if anyone experienced difficulty in voting online, they could call the church office. President de Groot explained that the meeting would not adjourn, but would be continued as people submitted their votes through noon on Saturday, March 27.

Pastor Miller then gave a blessing.

This portion of the meeting concluded at 10:02 am.

On March 28th, the president declared the polls closed. Although the option was provided for members to submit paper ballots, all votes were submitted electronically. A total of 91 ballots were cast. The slate of nine nominees received 87 votes and one ballot was marked with votes for David de Groot, Ruth Manchester, and Ralph Watkins. There were three abstentions. The president declared the nine nominees elected as voting members of the Synod Assembly. Having concluded the business for which the special Congregation Meeting had been called, the president adjourned the meeting.

Ralph Watkins Secretary